to finish the unfinished…

Lesly Zerna
2 min readJun 14, 2020

Just before 30th bday thoughts

I am getting to the third decade in few days! what I can say so far is… I am thankful for such amazing adventures in my twenties!

It is interesting how my twenties might have been somehow guided still by my parents and teachers! because when I turned 20 I could see some planning … finish university, get your first job, get professional specialization…

Today, I realized how exciting are all those ‘first time’ things that happened in my twenties… first jobs! first heartbreaks, deceptions, first experiences when going abroad “to live or to study”, first time quitting my fears to travel alone, first experiences as leader, first attempts to start up something :)

However in between those ‘first time’ things… I can see many things unfinished! some because of my direct fault and lack of experience or organization, others by external reasons which at first upset me a lot but I’ve learned… not everything depends on me! This one is haaard, since I am all surrounded by the “GET THINGS DONE!” mindset.

Ironically, this frase “GET THINGS DONE!” have helped me a lot to be more productive and responsible and a better leader but on the other hand it has also caused me lots of stress and anxiety even more when the things I want/need to be done don’t depend directly from my own effort.
Even more now, during covid-19 times, that I have so many things unfinished or uncompleted mainly because of the lockdown and overload of work :(

Anyway… I try to keep calm and recall:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
courage to change the things I can,
and wisdom to know the difference

Serenity Prayer

I am looking forward for new adventures in my thirties! to get to go to more places and meet more people! to learn many new things and get better in my favs so far! and being less anxious when things scape from my hands… for example this 2020…
==> I was invited to California for Google events, I even had my tickets but all airports were closed and the events were changed to be online.
==> I was launching (with my current job) a coworking space to in-person activities which now is “postponed”
==> Finish some specialization and take that exam abroad, no airports to go out now haha

I recall myself:

“We can make our plans,

but the LORD determines our steps”

Proverbs 16:9

And… to wait for the best, these hard times are teaching us about patient, more self-care and some spare time to think a bit more and prepare more plans :)

Serenity and calm… greetings from La Paz, Bolivia 🇧🇴

Mirador del Montículo. La Paz, Bolivia (2020)

--

--